Suddenly dont work on one mainboard but work at another ?

Everything about Andy Key's REMEMOrizer
Post Reply
User avatar
Crazyboss
Site Admin
Posts: 241
Joined: 09 Aug 2012 21:45
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Suddenly dont work on one mainboard but work at another ?

Post by Crazyboss »

Hi.
the -06 mainboard I wanted to change the video daughterboard, after that I could not get the computer to boot. I unplugged the Rememorizer, and then put in the original roms and then the computer worked again, I even could load games from tape without any problems.

Then I unplugged the 2 roms and tried the rememozier again, still the same :( tried the rememorizer on another board where it work as it should boot up in cp/m on the vga output.

So the rememorizer work, but what is wrong here ? Any clue.

When I try with the -06 mainboard, I get black screen and humming sound as expected, but for much longer time than normal, and the vga output shows a yellow flashing cursor.

To me it looks like the Computer do not see the remeorizer at all ?
//CLAUS - Webmaster at www.mtxworld.dk
User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 648
Joined: 24 Dec 2012 03:01
Location: Looking forward to summer, in Somerset, UK

Re: Suddenly dont work on one mainboard but work at another

Post by 1024MAK »

That's very strange :?

Mark
Martin A
Posts: 483
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 21:03

Re: Suddenly dont work on one mainboard but work at another

Post by Martin A »

Did you have to change the RAM/rom jumpers when you tried it on the other MTX ?

Something you could try ejecting and re-inserting the SD card fixed my re-memorizor when it failed to boot when I hadn't used it for a while.
User avatar
Crazyboss
Site Admin
Posts: 241
Joined: 09 Aug 2012 21:45
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Suddenly dont work on one mainboard but work at another

Post by Crazyboss »

Martin, nothing was changed, just took it from one MTX to another. Its quite weird, like something was blown.

Maybe an IC controlling the exp. port ? So it dont see any add-on boards?
//CLAUS - Webmaster at www.mtxworld.dk
User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 648
Joined: 24 Dec 2012 03:01
Location: Looking forward to summer, in Somerset, UK

Re: Suddenly dont work on one mainboard but work at another

Post by 1024MAK »

I think what Martin is getting at, is are the two MTX computers the same RAM configuration?
Is the PAL/replacement GAL correct?

With regards to the video daughter board, I don't recall any critical circuits going to it. The only thing I can think of, is it does use the +12V supply. If this is shorting to ground, then the video DRAM chips will not work, plus it will affect anything else fed from the +12V line.

Mark
Post Reply