Page 1 of 1

Use of Assembler in MTX Basic.

Posted: 15 Feb 2021 10:23
by Crazyboss
Hi there.

I think it have been mentioned before, but when using Assembler in Basic, and you add or remove basic lines before the Assembler routines, it seems like the Basic dont "re-assemble". What is the best way to do this. To get it work yesterday I had to go into each of my assembly lines and do a list. It seems to work, but its a bit hard to do each time. Is there a better way. I assume actually its best to put a goto in the first basic line to jump around the assemble code and then call the assembly from a gosub routine?

Re: Use of Assembler in MTX Basic.

Posted: 15 Feb 2021 11:02
by Bill B
See section 3.11 of ReSource v3.

You don't need to put a GOTO to jump over the CODE line. Just put a RET as the first line of the machine code.

Re: Use of Assembler in MTX Basic.

Posted: 15 Feb 2021 21:21
by Martin A
If you need to recompile a line, just entering and exiting the assembler line is enough you dont need to change anything. I used the 1 GOTO 100, A.10 method. Possibly because that put the code at 4010 and USR 16400 is easy to remember.