EDASM broken..

Everything about programming, including VDP and Sound programming.
Post Reply
User avatar
JonB
Posts: 101
Joined: 08 Nov 2013 11:16

EDASM broken..

Post by JonB » 09 Nov 2013 11:16

Hi all

Just tried to load EDASM. It was successful and I could list the program, which looks like a big assembly listing in BASIC. When I tried to run it, I got a blank screen. I think it crashed!

How long should it take to initialise?

Cheers

JonB

Edit: this time round I followed the instructions. It says use LOAD"ED/AS" to load it, but the program appears to be called "EDASM" on tape. Duh. Anyway, my question still stands (I used LOAD"" before).

Update 2: got a prompt after running it. Next step according to the manual is to type USER <RET>. I should get a yellow screen, but I get a lockup again. Going to try with a different tape player... :)

User avatar
Dave
Posts: 623
Joined: 11 Aug 2012 18:16
Contact:

Re: EDASM broken..

Post by Dave » 09 Nov 2013 11:29

Hi Jon,

I'm afraid that I can't help with the specific question.

I was about to point you to a copy of the manual in case you didn't have it, but I see that you have just updted your post and that sugests that you have.

Anyway, just in case you wanted an electronic copy, the manual is here . . .

http://primrosebank.net/computers/mtx/m ... are_dl.htm

regards
Dave

User avatar
Dave
Posts: 623
Joined: 11 Aug 2012 18:16
Contact:

Re: EDASM broken..

Post by Dave » 09 Nov 2013 11:49

Hi Jon,

again, not an actual answer, but the blank screen when assembling is "normal", but I don't know how long it takes.

The blank screen issue is mentioned in the EDASM review in Issue 8 of Memopad

http://primrosebank.net/computers/mtx/m ... genpat.htm

regards
Dave

User avatar
thewiz
Posts: 116
Joined: 12 Aug 2012 16:08

Re: EDASM broken..

Post by thewiz » 11 Nov 2013 15:22

I did a lot of messing about in EDASM. It was a great macro assembler. I must dig out some of the stuff I did.
THIS is what Memotech is doing now.

Post Reply