Available for order

Everything about Martin Allcorn's Games ROM
User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 555
Joined: 24 Dec 2012 03:01
Location: Looking forward to summer, in Somerset, UK

Re: Available for order

Post by 1024MAK » 29 Apr 2014 12:57

Hi Andy

I have just read through what has been posted. I don't see any comments about the MTX edge connector. Is it clean / has it been cleaned?

Also does this MTX work with simple BASIC programs. A simple test is to use a BASIC program that fills up an array ( DIM ) and then tests that the array still holds the same values.

Mark

AndyGarton
Posts: 29
Joined: 27 Jun 2013 10:46

Re: Available for order

Post by AndyGarton » 29 Apr 2014 13:01

Thanks Mark, the machine does run simple BASIC programs so works to some degree at least. I'll double check the edge connector later.

User avatar
Dave
Posts: 735
Joined: 11 Aug 2012 18:16
Contact:

Re: Available for order

Post by Dave » 29 Apr 2014 15:48

Mark,

have you had a chance to try yours yet?

regards
Dave

AndyGarton
Posts: 29
Joined: 27 Jun 2013 10:46

Re: Available for order

Post by AndyGarton » 29 Apr 2014 17:01

Ok I cleaned all contacts, reseated chips, tried internal as well, still get the same behaviour unfortunately. Each game fails with a consistent symptom, but each is a little bit different. Arcazians (I forget the spelling!) actually gets to the game title screen, but pressing 1 or 2 to start the game does nothing. I guess this MTX is effectively dead, perhaps memory chip related.

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 555
Joined: 24 Dec 2012 03:01
Location: Looking forward to summer, in Somerset, UK

Re: Available for order

Post by 1024MAK » 29 Apr 2014 19:42

Dave wrote:Mark,

have you had a chance to try yours yet?

regards
Dave
No, it's sat on the side of the workbench :-(
At the moment the distractions (apart from work, family and other real life stuff) are a Plus 2 (Acorn Electron), modifying a Logic3 Arcade Controller designed for a Nintendo Wii to work as a joystick on retro computers (including making the leads for a BBC/Electron, Atari standard connectors and Amstrad/Sinclair lead for a +2 or +3), two faulty Saga Elite keyboards (ZX Spectrum), ZX80 Core (PCB also on the side of the workbench), Harlequin clone PCB & parts (guess where!), oh, and my replacement MTX PSU that I must finish testing (when I remember to solder up the DIN test lead).

Damn. Now why did you make me list all that... :shock: :x :lol:

Mark

Martin A
Posts: 406
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 21:03

Re: Available for order

Post by Martin A » 29 Apr 2014 19:45

Martin A wrote:
Dave wrote:Hi Andy,

we have not tried this (yet), but Martin thinks that MAGROM should work OK with the REMEMOrizer ROMs, could you try MAGROM in palce of REMEMOrizer please?

regards
Dave
It should work internally, with the Re-memorizor providing the system roms or with the standard roms.

It wont work externally if the system rom has been pulled and was being provided by the now unplugged re-memorizor....

UPDATE:

I did some testing, Magrom WONT work with re-memorizor. There's no clash with the startup system of holding shifts to stop re-memorizor going to CPM and Space to boot magrom.

What is an issue is re-memorizor makes too much(!) memory available to ROM mode, PEEK (64122) gives a result of 11. Magrom only works with 0, 1 or 3.

Martin A
Posts: 406
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 21:03

Re: Available for order

Post by Martin A » 01 May 2014 22:31

AndyGarton wrote:Ok I cleaned all contacts, reseated chips, tried internal as well, still get the same behaviour unfortunately. Each game fails with a consistent symptom, but each is a little bit different. Arcazians (I forget the spelling!) actually gets to the game title screen, but pressing 1 or 2 to start the game does nothing. I guess this MTX is effectively dead, perhaps memory chip related.
Or maybe power related, if it works OK with nothing plugged in, and then fails with "something" on one of the expansion ports, it could be power related. "Something" could be Magrom/REMEMOrizor plugged in externally, or one of the internal RAM/RS232 boards

A simple test program

10 PRINT TIME$
20 GOTO 10

can be left running for a bit, both with and without expansions to check stability.

AndyGarton
Posts: 29
Joined: 27 Jun 2013 10:46

Re: Available for order

Post by AndyGarton » 02 May 2014 12:55

Thanks Martin, that runs ok (I only tried it with expansions, i.e. 32k card and MAGROM, both internal).

Post Reply