No picture.

About original Memotech hardware.
User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 627
Joined: 24 Dec 2012 03:01
Location: Looking forward to summer, in Somerset, UK

Re: No picture.

Post by 1024MAK »

Rather than trying to hold a meter probe on pin 16, it’s far easier to use the case of the modulator ;)

Mark
Steven.G
Posts: 42
Joined: 18 Jul 2020 14:03

Re: No picture.

Post by Steven.G »

I think I've killed it!!!

I was doing the voltage tests and moved the meter which nudged the power lead, the computer burred and the screen became corrupted.
I narrowed it down to where the cable exited the power supply and one of the wires had a break in it so cut back and re-soldered it.
However on power up I get no picture and a lot of grumbling sound.

So I'm pretty much done with it for the time being.

Steve.
User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 627
Joined: 24 Dec 2012 03:01
Location: Looking forward to summer, in Somerset, UK

Re: No picture.

Post by 1024MAK »

If the cable has started to fail, I recommend renewing it completely.

Mark
Steven.G
Posts: 42
Joined: 18 Jul 2020 14:03

Re: No picture.

Post by Steven.G »

OK, any particular specifications or recommendations?

Steve..
User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 627
Joined: 24 Dec 2012 03:01
Location: Looking forward to summer, in Somerset, UK

Re: No picture.

Post by 1024MAK »

Steven.G wrote: 29 Jul 2020 19:07 OK, any particular specifications or recommendations?

Steve..
I have used this cable from Rapid https://www.rapidonline.com/kabeltronik ... 61-49-0478 in the past. But it’s now discontinued:-(

But anything similar should be fine.

Mark
Steven.G
Posts: 42
Joined: 18 Jul 2020 14:03

Re: No picture.

Post by Steven.G »

I found this would it be suitable?
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5-Core-Thinw ... Sw1uhfC1nJ


Steve..
User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 627
Joined: 24 Dec 2012 03:01
Location: Looking forward to summer, in Somerset, UK

Re: No picture.

Post by 1024MAK »

Looks okay. Shame the listing is a little vague on which conductor size it is. But the overall size is the same, so if the larger conductor size is supplied, it should not be a problem.

Mark
Steven.G
Posts: 42
Joined: 18 Jul 2020 14:03

Re: No picture.

Post by Steven.G »

Puts dunce cap on to ask,,,

Which part number would the larger conductor size be???

Steve..
User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 627
Joined: 24 Dec 2012 03:01
Location: Looking forward to summer, in Somerset, UK

Re: No picture.

Post by 1024MAK »

I *think* that listing is the larger conductor size. But the smaller conductor size would be fine as well.

I’m going on the current rating in the details section.

Mark
Steven.G
Posts: 42
Joined: 18 Jul 2020 14:03

Re: No picture.

Post by Steven.G »

Thank you and now ordered.

Steve..
Post Reply