New member - RetroElectroDad

Section where new members can tell us a little bit about themselves (and their own set-up) and existing members can say "hello and welcome" to them?
RetroElectroDad

New member - RetroElectroDad

Post by RetroElectroDad »

Hi All,

My name is Trevor, I just joined the forum today after being pointed in this direction by Dave when I bought a MAGROM and I'm a compulsive collector of vintage micros and games consoles. That sounds a little like an AA introduction and I think this collecting lark is a bit of an addiction for me! I'm a software developer for GE by day and much of the rest of the time is taken by my wife and son (8) and daughter (6 in two days) but I do manage to snatch an hour here and there to indulge my retro hobby.

My first micros were the ZX81, then swiftly after a TI-99/4a when black and white with no sound just didn't cut it and on which I really started to program with BASIC. I then moved on to Atari 8-bits where I treacly got into 6502 machine language as unfortunately the TI had little to no access to the hardware. The Memotech always fascinated me as it always looked like the sexiest of the vintage micros, it really seemed to be fully featured and well thought-out and in some ways was what the TI-99/4a could have been with the same graphics and sound chips.

I have a little bit of a hankering to try out some Z80 machine code and my MTX512 seemed to be the ideal machine to do that so here I am hoping to find some hints and tips for developing on this lovely machine. With it I'm starting from scratch on the OS, processor and assembler, though the VDP is not a mystery to me from my BASIC days and after learning to program the TI in TMS9900 assembler over the last couple of years.

Regards,
Trev
Dave

Re: New member - RetroElectroDad

Post by Dave »

Hi Trevor,

Welcome here too !