Question #1: .MTX and/or .RUN to .WAV conversion

Include new and ported/converted games, and old games/tools. Subjects about CP/M software goes in the CP/M Forum.
kokkiklhs

Question #1: .MTX and/or .RUN to .WAV conversion

Post by kokkiklhs »

Well, as I said before, I'm a noob with the MTX, though I've managed to load on my recently acquired 512 and play a couple of games that I've found readily converted to .WAV at both nice sites that provide them...
BUT, some of the games I've found are either in .MTX format for use with MEMU, or in .RUN or even .COM (for use with CP/M, I assume)...

I tried to convert Jet Set Willy from .MTX to .WAV using the AppMake utility, but even though it started fine, it stubbornly refused to load with success. All I get is a garbled screen at the end. Am I doing something wrong, or it's just this specific game that can't be converted? Some other .MTX games that I tried to convert to .WAV with the same tool, loaded well...

And how about some good titles that I've found in .RUN format? Can these be converted to .WAV somehow? I understand that AppMake won't do this job, but is there some other utility/trick that I'm missing?

Well, you see, I am a "traditional" guy and I don't like messing with emulators, unless it's absolutely necessary... If I have the machine, I prefer playing/working with the real thing. I also prefer the good old "tape" (I mean sound) loading for such old machines, even if a have (or can have) a floppy disk drive or equivalent modern gadget...
:roll:
Martin A

Re: Question #1: .MTX and/or .RUN to .WAV conversion

Post by Martin A »

The RUN file format was something that came in with the extensions to basic that were added to use the disc systems. They're basically a binary image with a 4 byte header tacked on the front wtth the load address and file length. Since all the basic is stripped away they're smaller and load that bit faster.